Couchiching Online
nav button nav button nav button nav button nav button nav button
Conference 
 

75th Annual Summer Conference, August 10–13, 2006

Canada moving Forward: Making Progress Happen

Speaking Notes
The Honourable Michael D. Chong
President of the Queen’s Privy Council for Canada
Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs
Minister for Sport

Check against delivery

Introduction

I would like to thank the conference organizers for inviting me to this impressive gathering. As a Minister of the Crown and as a citizen, it is an honour to be invited and to have this opportunity to speak about progress in the Canadian context.

I know that there is a large number of students at this year’s conference – a sign, I expect, that organizers have picked a very relevant topic.

Grooming young minds for responsible citizenship is a noble pursuit – certainly important to our progress. I’m happy that Dr. Martha Rogers, Director of Education for the Upper Grand District School Board, has been able to join me today to hear this important discussion.

My co-panellists will each address key elements that define progress in the contemporary world:

  • economic strength and the ability to compete;
  • adaptability and openness to others in achieving success; and
  • sustainable growth as a means to ensure opportunities for future generations.

We are engaged in a very important dialogue about the future of our nation – and this is good.

Progress for Canada in the Twenty-First Century

By almost any account, Canada figures prominently as a country that has achieved both economic and social progress.

Today, Canadians enjoy the benefits of economic success: a stable and growing economy, low interest rates and low unemployment rates.

Indeed, Canada is viewed as an economic leader among G7 countries; it has the lowest net debt burden of all members of the G7 and, according to the OECD, it is the only G7 government that is expected to post surpluses in 2006 and 2007.

Socially, Canada has progressed a great deal since World War II. We created a public health care system, a pension system, and developed an approach to citizenship that respects diversity. As a country, we believe in reaching out around the globe to people in need of our assistance.

I could go on about our successes, but I don’t need to because you can read it all in John Ibbitson’s book, The Polite Revolution . In the first 12 pages or so, John chronicles our successes as a nation, and I won’t try to repeat them. Suffice it to say that we have a lot to be proud of and I recommend that you all read John’s book – or at least the first 12 pages – for those details.

Perhaps it is because of what we have attained and achieved in our short history as a nation that the bar for what constitutes progress in the future is so high.

In my opinion, a very simple definition of progress is having a better society tomorrow than we have today. For a nation, it means leaving to our grandchildren a cleaner, safer and more prosperous country – and hence a better quality of life – than we inherited.

So where do we go with what we have today? What challenges does our nation face in moving from a prosperous today to an even more prosperous tomorrow?

Today, I’d like to leave federal-provincial-territorial relations behind, leave sport to the athletes, and instead dwell on a Canadian fact that strikes me each time I make the trip from my farm in Fergus, through Toronto, to Ottawa. It is the fact – and the challenge – of our rapidly changing communities.

Growth and urbanization in Canada today

In many ways, the Canada we know today would be unrecognizable to previous generations. According to the 1921 census, only 49 percent of Canadians lived in urban areas. By comparison, the 2001 census tells us that 80 percent of Canadians now live in urban areas.

Rapid economic growth in urban centres is transforming our landscapes and our lifestyles.

My trips from Toronto’s Pearson Airport to my farm take me through a microcosm of this Canadian reality. I see the dynamism of Canada’s largest city and the fast-paced growth of its suburbs. I see the hustle-and-bustle and the infrastructure that keeps the economic engine firing. I see the transformation of farming and rural communities, once part of Ontario’s agricultural heartland, into expanding subdivisions.

And in thinking about the challenges and opportunities that all this poses, I am not alone.

Our changing communities and the accompanying challenges are increasingly the subject of op-ed pieces, journal articles, books, symposia and government reports. The issue permeates discussion of productivity, of the environment, of our health, of immigration policy, of our competitiveness, our quality of life, and our attractiveness for investors and big business.

Most people would agree that to make progress for the future, to build a better society, we need today to build our communities in a sustainable way:

  • in a way that is environmentally sustainable;
  • with economically sustainable infrastructure;
  • and in a way that raises our productivity.

Let me elaborate on each of these, beginning with the environment.

We all know the inextricable relationship between the environment and the health of our communities.

Decades of research show that watershed regenerative areas, carbon sinks created by agricultural and wilderness areas, and a whole host of other natural processes that take place in non-urban areas are vital to clean air, clean water and clean habitat.

A key point in the debate around the environment is that neither the problems nor the solutions lie in Kyoto, but more fundamentally, in patterns of growth that create environmentally unsustainable consumption patterns. This means the problem – and the solution – lie much closer to home.

As citizens, we should encourage all our elected officials – local, provincial and territorial, and federal – to make the environment a top consideration in their planning and spending. I can tell you on behalf of the Government of Canada that we are taking this to heart.

Already, our government has made significant progress in introducing sound, effective measures aimed at enhancing the state of our environment:

  • we announced a new transit tax credit to encourage public transit use;
  • we introduced a new tax exemption for donations of ecologically sensitive land;
  • we are developing new legislation to combat the smog that plagues our cities; and
  • we are increasing the average renewable fuel content in gasoline and diesel fuels to 5 percent by 2010.

And this fall the Minister of the Environment will introduce the Government’s new plan for the environment, which I think will pleasantly surprise.

But let’s not forget our collective responsibility for our own individual actions. Sure, most of us recycle. Some of us may have taken further steps to green our lives. But we need to challenge ourselves to do even more, now. We need to look in our own backyards first, quite literally.

Infrastructure

I’ll move now to a point on the importance of economically sustainable infrastructure to our progress as a nation.

Governments at all levels face continuous pressure to prepare budgets that have infrastructure projects as a priority. Municipalities, for example, face the challenge of maintaining infrastructure spending while investing in the delivery of other essential services that maintain our quality of life.

The cost of maintaining roads, sewers, bridges, transit systems, harbours, water treatment plants and all the "hard" public infrastructure competes with spending on things like soccer pitches, school teachers, museums and community health initiatives.

To meet all these needs as they grow, municipalities can raise property taxes (but aim not to do so) or seek more funding from other orders of government. Provinces and territories and/or the Government of Canada must then decide whether to squeeze their own programs or raise taxes.

Regardless of who collects how much money from whom, there is only one tax base, and we all have to pay for the infrastructure.

The Government of Canada feels that it has an important role to play to ensure Canada has a solid infrastructure system to support trade and commerce. To emphasise this conviction, we announced a $16.5 billion investment in infrastructure over the next four years.

Moreover, our government has made a commitment to put federal funding on a predictable, long-term track and has made this issue part of the fiscal balance discussion with provinces and territories.

As citizens, though, it’s important to remember that there is a finite amount of money for this purpose – which is why building economically sustainable infrastructure is so important.

Last weekend, architect Jack Diamond wrote an opinion piece in the Globe and Mail – you may have read it .

In a discussion about the economics of low-density developments, he referenced a study done in southwestern Ontario. It found that for every dollar received in real-estate tax, $1.40 was needed to provide services there. When we talk about a legacy for our grandchildren, surely we don’t mean a legacy of institutionalized deficits.

Not building economically sustainable infrastructure will result in new needs, higher taxes or a lower quality of life. And none of these is good for productivity, for ingenuity, or for attracting business to our shores to generate new revenues that can pay for progress.

Productivity

So I’ve touched on the importance of environmentally and economically sustainable growth. I’ll move to my final point now – about the need to ensure that as they grow, our communities facilitate enhanced productivity so that we can finance progress in the future - so that Canadian families can continue to prosper.

To be able, in the future, to afford the services, amenities and security that we enjoy today, the value of our per-capita economic output must increase. To be competitive globally, investors and buyers need to be confident that Canada is a market that will grow their money for them.

I’ll admit that productivity is a multi-faceted issue and it requires initiatives on so many levels. It’s also an area of expertise for my colleagues, so I won’t pretend personally to know the full answer. But there are a few critical things that the Government of Canada is already doing to strengthen the Canadian economy.

In recent years, the business community has raised concerns that government spending and taxing were limiting our economic progress. That is why our current government is focussing on reducing the growth in its spending and focussing on responsible program delivery.

We have also introduced tax relief for Canadian individuals and businesses. In our first budget we introduced more tax cuts for individuals than the past four federal budgets combined.

We continue to work on dismantling the barriers to mobility and trade within Canada, the barriers to employment for immigrants, and the barriers to efficient capital markets.

The Minister of Finance is exploring ways to further harmonize the tax systems in this country to reduce compliance costs for taxpayers and administration costs for business and governments.

As for human capital and competitiveness, we, like the rest of the developed world, have recognized that a skilled workforce is vital for a strong economy in Canada.

We need to do everything we can to support an education system that turns out well-trained, well-educated, adaptable workers. A good education is the key to a great future for our young Canadians, and we want to ensure we have a workforce ready to work hard and get ahead.

Our government sees the importance of Canadians pursuing post-secondary education, and in Budget 2006 we provided $370 million in new investments to foster accessibility and excellence at our colleges and universities.

Now, in the context of our changing communities, do we have an opportunity to enhance productivity?

Is it possible that there is something to the belief we have that population density increases productivity?

Could more densely populated areas put people closer to their workplace, reducing their commute time and increasing leisure time?

Could increased leisure time lead to a happier and healthier population?

Might happier, healthier people be more productive, more creative?

In short, could we move more quickly to save the environment, save on infrastructure, and enhance productivity – all in one fell swoop – by increasing the density of our new developments?

These questions come to me as I make my own commute, and I notice in the literature that others are making these links. It’s another good discussion for another day perhaps

Now – to wrap up all these thoughts:

I think it is clear that this Government has focussed on priorities that ensure Canada’s families and businesses can get ahead. We are working on ensuring that new immigrants and young people can contribute to a strong workforce; we are ensuring that our infrastructure system is funded to maximize trade and commerce, and we have reduced taxes for all. As well, we are establishing a solid environmental plan for this country.

But let us remember that governments are not the only actors here. We as individuals are collectively responsible for the future of our communities.

It is key to remember that our individual decisions affect that future, that our individual decisions play out on a timeline that is much longer than, say, the terms of our present employment.

I realize that what earned me the invitation to talk to you today is my role as a Cabinet minister. But what brought me here was the opportunity to speak as a country dweller, a city lover, a father and a citizen, about a stark reality that has the potential to either propel our quality of life to new heights, or slowly unhinge our society as we know it.

So my main message – about our cities, our environment, the costs of infrastructure and the growth of productivity – my main message is that our individual actions are the constituent parts of progress. Whether we drive a smart car, vote, write an opinion piece or spend billions of dollars, we cannot extricate our actions from society as a whole. When we live this, we will make progress.

Thank you.

Copyright © 2006 Couchiching Institute on Public Affairs
All rights reserved.

Couchiching Online
nav button nav button nav button nav button nav button nav button
Conference 
 

75th Annual Summer Conference, August 10–13, 2006

Les perspectives d’avenir du Canada : réaliser le progrès

Notes d’allocution
Honorable Michael D. Chong,
Président du Conseil privé de la Reine pour le Canada
ministre des Affaires intergouvernementales
ministre des Sports

L’allocution prononcée fait foi

Introduction

Je remercie les organisateurs de m’avoir invité à cette rencontre importante. À titre de ministre de la Couronne et de citoyen, c’est un honneur de participer à cette conférence et d’avoir l’occasion d’aborder la question du progrès dans le contexte canadien.

Je sais que la conférence de cette année réunit bon nombre d’étudiants – signe que le thème choisi est très à propos.

Inculquer aux jeunes le sens civique est un noble objectif – une démarche importante pour notre progrès collectif. Je me réjouis du fait que madame Martha Rogers, directrice de l’enseignement pour la l’Upper Grand District School Board, ait pu se joindre à nous pour cette discussion de grande valeur.

Chacun de mes coéquipiers parlera des éléments clés du progrès dans le monde d’aujourd’hui :

  • la vigueur de l’économie et la capacité de concurrencer;
  • le pouvoir de s’adapter et de s’ouvrir aux autres dans notre quête de réussite;
  • la croissance durable pour offrir des possibilités aux générations futures.

Nous sommes engagés dans un dialogue primordial sur l’avenir de notre pays – ce qui est une bonne chose.

Le progrès pour le Canada dans XXIe siècle

À presque tous les égards, le Canada fait bonne figure quant aux progrès réalisés sur les plans social et économique.

Les Canadiens profitent aujourd’hui des avantages de la prospérité économique : une économie stable et croissante, de faibles taux d’intérêt et des niveaux de chômage peu élevés.

Le Canada est considéré comme un leader économique parmi les pays du G7. Il est celui dont la dette nette est la moins élevée, et l’OCDE estime qu’il sera le seul gouvernement du G7 à afficher un excédent budgétaire en 2006 et 2007.

Sur le plan social, le Canada a fait des progrès considérables depuis la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Il s’est doté d’un système de soins de santé public et d’un régime de pension, et a privilégié une approche de la citoyenneté qui fait place à la diversité. Comme pays, nous croyons à la nécessité de tendre la main à ceux qui ont besoin de notre aide partout dans le monde.

Je pourrais vous parler plus longtemps de nos réussites, mais je vous recommande plutôt le livre de John Ibbitson intitulé The Polite Revolution , dont les 12 premières pages font amplement état de nos succès en tant que nation. Je me contenterai de dire que nous avons de nombreuses raisons d’être fiers.

Si la barre du progrès futur est si haute, c’est peut-être dû à tout ce que nous avons réalisé dans la brève histoire de notre pays.

À mon avis, une simple définition du progrès est d’avoir dans l’avenir une meilleure société que celle que nous avons d’aujourd’hui. Pour une nation, cela signifie léguer à nos petits enfants un monde plus propre, plus sécuritaire et plus prospère – et, de ce fait, une meilleure qualité de vie – que celui dont nous avons hérité.

Où allons-nous avec ce que nous avons acquis? Quels défis devons-nous relever pour passer d’un pays prospère à un pays encore plus prospère dans les années futures?

Pour un instant, j’aimerais mettre de côté les relations fédérales-provinciales-territoriales et laisser le sport aux athlètes afin d’aborder une réalité canadienne qui me frappe chaque fois que je me rends à Ottawa à partir de ma ferme à Fergus en passant par Toronto. Il s’agit du défi que pose l’évolution rapide de nos collectivités.

La croissance et l’urbanisation du Canada d’aujourd’hui

À plusieurs égards, les générations qui nous ont précédés auraient peine à reconnaître le Canada tel qu’il existe de nos jours. En 1921, 49 pour 100 des Canadiens vivaient en zone urbaine par rapport à 80 pour 100 en 2001, selon les recensements des deux époques.

La croissance économique vigoureuse dans les centres urbains transforme nos paysages et nos vies.

Lorsque je me déplace entre l’aéroport Pearson et ma ferme, j’aperçois un microcosme de cette réalité canadienne. Je vois le dynamisme du plus grand centre urbain du pays et la prolifération de ses banlieues. Je remarque toute l’activité et l’infrastructure qui sont le moteur de notre économie. Je constate la transformation en subdivisions des collectivités rurales qui, autrefois, étaient le centre agricole de l’Ontario.

Je ne suis pas le seul à réfléchir aux défis et aux possibilités que tout cela suppose.

Nos collectivités en mutation et les défis connexes font de plus en plus l’objet d’éditoriaux, d’articles de journal, de livres, de symposiums et de rapports publics. Cette question imprègne toute discussion sur la productivité, l’environnement, la santé, la politique d’immigration, la qualité de vie et l’attrait du Canada pour les investisseurs et les grandes entreprises.

La plupart de gens conviendraient que pour réaliser des progrès dans l’avenir, pour bâtir une société meilleure, nous devons dès maintenant assurer la viabilité de nos collectivités :

  • d’une façon durable sur le plan de l’environnement;
  • au moyen d’une infrastructure économiquement durable;
  • de manière à accroître notre productivité.

Permettez-moi d’élaborer sur chacun de ces trois points, en commençant par l’environnement.

Nous sommes tous conscients du lien intrinsèque entre l’environnement et la santé de nos collectivités.

Comme le démontrent des décennies de recherche, les bassins hydrographiques et leur pouvoir regénératif, les puits de carbone créés par les régions agricoles et sauvages, ainsi qu’une foule d’autres processus naturels à l’extérieur des zones urbaines sont essentiels à la qualité de l’air, de l’eau et des habitats.

Le débat sur l’environnement fait ressortir une chose : Kyoto n’est ni le problème ni la solution. On doit plutôt s’attarder aux pratiques de croissance qui entraînent des habitudes de consommation nuisibles à l’environnement. Cela signifie que le problème – et donc la solution – est beaucoup plus près de nous.

À titre de citoyens, nous devrions encourager tous nos élus – municipaux, provinciaux et fédéraux – à faire de l’environnement un élément clé dans leur planification et leurs plans de dépenses. Au nom du gouvernement du Canada, je peux vous assurer que cette question nous tient à coeur.

Déjà, notre gouvernement a posé des gestes importants en proposant des mesures efficaces et rigoureuses pour améliorer l’état de notre environnement :

  • nous avons annoncé un nouveau crédit d’impôt pour encourager le recours au transport en commun;
  • nous avons mis en place une exemption d’impôt pour les dons de terres écosensibles;
  • nous avons entrepris la rédaction d’un projet de loi pour combattre la pollution qui empoisonne nos villes;
  • d’ici 2010, nous exigerons une proportion moyenne de 5 pour 100 de combustible renouvelable dans l’essence et le carburant diesel.

De plus, à l’automne, la ministre de l’Environnement présentera le nouveau plan du gouvernement en matière d’environnement qui constituera, je crois, une agréable surprise.

N’oublions pas que nous avons aussi la responsabilité collective d’agir sur le plan individuel. Certes, la majorité d’entre nous pratique le recyclage. Certains prennent peut-être d’autres mesures pour préserver l’environnement. Mais il faut se mettre au défi de faire encore plus, dès maintenant. Nous devons commencer par nettoyer notre propre cour, au sens propre comme au sens figuré.

Infrastructure

J’aimerais maintenant discuter de l’importance d’avoir une infrastructure financièrement viable pour progresser en tant que nation.

Tous les ordres de gouvernement sont constamment poussés à préparer leurs budgets en ayant des projets d’infrastructure comme priorités. Par exemple, les municipalités ont le défi de maintenir les dépenses d’infrastructure tout en investissant dans la prestation d’autres services essentiels au maintien de notre qualité de vie.

Le coût d’entretien des routes, des égouts, des ponts, du transport en commun, des ports, des usines de traitement d’eau et de toutes les infrastructures publiques dites ´ matérielles ª fait concurrence à l’investissement dans, par exemple, les terrains de soccer, l’enseignement, les musées et les initiatives de santé communautaire.

Pour répondre à tous ces besoins à mesure qu’ils s’accroissent, les municipalités peuvent augmenter l’impôt foncier (mais tentent d’éviter de le faire) ou réclamer davantage de financement des autres ordres de gouvernement. C’est alors aux provinces et aux territoires, ou au gouvernement du Canada de décider s’ils vont réduire leurs propres programmes ou augmenter les impôts.

Peu importe qui perçoit combien auprès de qui : il n’y a qu’une assiette fiscale, et c’est nous tous qui devons payer pour l’infrastructure.

Le gouvernement du Canada a la conviction qu’il a un rôle important à jouer pour que le pays dispose d’un système d’infrastructures solide capable de soutenir les échanges et le commerce. À preuve, nous avons annoncé un investissement de 16,5 milliards de dollars dans l’infrastructure pour les quatre prochaines années.

De surcroît, notre gouvernement s’est engagé à rendre le financement fédéral plus prévisible et à l’offrir davantage à long terme, et il a fait de cette question une partie intégrante des discussions sur l’équilibre fiscal avec les provinces et les territoires.

Cela dit, en tant que citoyens, il est important de se rappeler que les sommes qui peuvent être consacrées à ce domaine ne sont pas infinies. C’est pourquoi il est si important de se doter d’une infrastructure viable sur le plan économique.

Le week-end dernier, le Globe and Mail a publié une lettre ouverte de l’architecte Jack Diamond . Peut-être l’avez-vous lue.

Dans le cadre d’une discussion sur les dimensions économiques des nouveaux quartiers à faible densité, il a fait référence à une étude réalisée dans le sud-ouest de l’Ontario. Celle-ci révèle que pour chaque dollar provenant d’un bien immobilier, 1,40 dollar est nécessaire pour y fournir des services. Vous conviendrez que lorsque nous disons vouloir laisser un héritage à nos enfants, nous ne parlons pas de déficits institutionnalisés.

Si nous négligeons de bâtir une infrastructure économiquement viable, il en résultera de nouveaux besoins, une augmentation des impôts ou un déclin de la qualité de vie. Aucun de ces scénarios n’est bon pour améliorer la productivité, stimuler l’ingéniosité et attirer les entreprises de façon à gonfler les revenus et assumer le coût du progrès.

La productivité

J’ai montré l’importance d’avoir une croissance viable sur le plan environnemental et économique. J’aimerais maintenant aborder un dernier point, soit la nécessité de veiller à ce qu’à mesure qu’elles se développent, nos collectivités favorisent une meilleure productivité. Nous pourrons ainsi financer les progrès futurs et faire en sorte que les familles canadiennes puissent continuer de vivre dans la prospérité.

Dans le futur, pour continuer de bénéficier des services, des installations et de la sécurité dont nous jouissons aujourd’hui, il nous faudra augmenter notre production par habitant. Pour être concurrentiels à l’échelle mondiale, il nous faut convaincre les investisseurs et les acheteurs que le Canada est un marché qui fera fructifier leur argent.

Je conviens que la productivité est une question aux nombreuses facettes qui exige des initiatives à plusieurs niveaux. Il s’agit également d’un domaine de spécialité de mes collègues, alors je ne prétends pas avoir personnellement la solution ultime. Ce que je peux dire, par contre, c’est qu’il y a certaines choses critiques que le gouvernement du Canada fait déjà pour renforcer notre économie.

Au cours des dernières années, la communauté d’affaires a exprimé des préoccupations à l’effet que les taxes et les dépenses du gouvernement limitent notre développement économique. C’est pourquoi le gouvernement actuel a pour priorité de freiner l’augmentation de ses dépenses et d’offrir des programmes de manière responsable.

Nous avons aussi apporté des allégements fiscaux tant pour les Canadiens que pour les entreprises. Notre premier budget proposait plus de réductions d’impôt des particuliers que les quatre budgets précédents combinés.

Nous continuons d’essayer d’éliminer les obstacles à la mobilité et au commerce au Canada, les barrières à l’emploi pour les immigrants et les entraves aux marchés financiers efficients.

Le ministre des Finances explore divers moyens d’harmoniser les régimes fiscaux au Canada afin de réduire les coûts d’observation pour les contribuables et les frais d’administration pour les entreprises et les gouvernements.

En ce qui concerne le capital humain et la compétitivité, nous reconnaissons, comme le reste du monde, qu’une main-d’oeuvre qualifiée est cruciale pour que l’économie canadienne soit forte.

Nous devons faire tout en notre pouvoir pour avoir un système d’éducation qui forme des travailleurs compétents, instruits et polyvalents. Pour les jeunes Canadiens, avoir une bonne éducation est la clé du succès, et nous voulons nous assurer d’avoir une population active qui est prête à travailler avec ardeur et à prendre les devants.

Notre gouvernement reconnaît l’importance que les Canadiens fassent des études postsecondaires et a prévu 370 millions de dollars de nouveaux investissements dans le Budget 2006 pour faciliter l’accès aux collèges et universités et y encourager l’excellence.

La question est maintenant de savoir si, vu l’évolution de nos collectivités, il est possible d’améliorer notre productivité.

Se pourrait-il qu’il y ait un fond de vérité à notre croyance selon laquelle la productivité est tributaire de la densité de population?

Dans une région particulièrement peuplée, les gens habiteraient-ils plus près de leur lieu de travail, ce qui réduirait le temps de transport et augmenterait le temps consacré aux loisirs?

Est-ce qu’en ayant davantage de temps libre la population serait plus heureuse et en meilleure santé?

Des gens plus heureux et en meilleure santé seraient-ils plus productifs et créatifs?

En un mot, pourrions-nous rapidement, et d’un seul coup, protéger l’environnement, économiser sur le plan de l’infrastructure et améliorer la productivité en augmentant la densité des nouveaux développements domiciliaires?

Ce sont là les questions qui me viennent à l’esprit pendant mes propres déplacements, et je constate par mes lectures que d’autres ont la même réflexion. Peut-être s’agit-il d’un bon sujet de discussion pour une autre occasion.

Maintenant, question de synthétiser toutes ces idées...

Je crois qu’il est clair que le gouvernement fédéral actuel a aligné ses priorités de façon à ce que les familles et les entreprises canadiennes puissent améliorer leur situation. Nous déployons des efforts pour que les nouveaux immigrants et les jeunes puissent contribuer au renforcement de la main-d’oeuvre. Nous veillons à ce que le système d’infrastructures soit financé de façon à maximiser les échanges et le commerce. Nous avons réduit les taxes pour tout le monde. Et nous sommes en train de concevoir un plan environnemental ingénieux pour le Canada.

Il ne faut toutefois pas oublier que les gouvernements ne sont pas les seuls protagonistes. En effet, chacun d’entre nous, en tant que personne, est responsable de l’avenir de nos collectivités.

Il faut absolument se rappeler que nos décisions personnelles influent sur l’avenir, que leur portée est bien plus vaste, par exemple, que la durée de notre emploi actuel.

Je me rends bien compte que si on m’a invité à vous parler aujourd’hui, c’est parce que je suis membre du Cabinet. Toutefois, ce qui m’a incité à venir est l’occasion de m’exprimer en tant qu’habitant du pays et en tant que père et citoyen au sujet d’une dure réalité qui a le potentiel de nous faire découvrir de nouveaux sommets de qualité de vie ou de faire lentement basculer notre société telle que nous la connaissons.

Essentiellement – en ce qui concerne nos villes, notre environnement, le coût de notre infrastructure et la croissance de la productivité – je tenais à vous dire que nos actions individuelles sont toutes des composantes du progrès. Que nous conduisions une voiture écologique, que nous écrivions une lettre ouverte ou que nous dépensions des milliards de dollars, nos gestes sont indissociables de la société. Dès que nous embrasserons cette réalité, nous embrasserons le progrès.

Je vous remercie.

Copyright © 2006 Couchiching Institute on Public Affairs
All rights reserved.